Fuji Any Good?

duhhuh

Apr 17, 2005
Hi guys, I am a real beginner. Wondering if the bike I have is worth keeping or start looking. Bike is older Fuji Special Road Racer. Luggged steel frame, Suntour derailleurs, DiaCompe brakes, Ukairim 27-1/4 wheels, 10 speed, 40/50 and 14/18//22/27/34, 52cm C-C Seat Tube and 54 C-C Top Tube. Seems to fit OK. Should I put a little into it or start looking for something else? Thanks.

duhhuh said:
Hi guys, I am a real beginner. Wondering if the bike I have is worth keeping or start looking. Bike is older Fuji Special Road Racer. Luggged steel frame, Suntour derailleurs, DiaCompe brakes, Ukairim 27-1/4 wheels, 10 speed, 40/50 and 14/18//22/27/34, 52cm C-C Seat Tube and 54 C-C Top Tube. Seems to fit OK. Should I put a little into it or start looking for something else? Thanks.
Fuji made bottom of the barrel to top end. With 27" wheels it's more toward the lower end.That 5 speed 14/34 freewheel is a joke.

Hey folks, I really could use some help. Is the Fuji a fixer upper or a lost cause? I am a real newbie and some advice here would be appreciated. If it is saveable, what do you recommend?

my FIRST road bike was a 1989 Fuji Ace, it was fine for the time (steel frame, so so components) but I broke the frames derailleur hanger, and it was junk after that.

I would say that your bike is okay for the year or 2 around when it was produced.

ANY low-end road bike from a good, well-known company is many, many times better than what you have now. If you are serious about getting into riding, spend a couple bucks and buy a decent bike... you may even find a used bike in want-ads for much less than retail. Just do some homework before you buy anything.

my $.02

duhhuh said:
Hey folks, I really could use some help. Is the Fuji a fixer upper or a lost cause?
Probably better than a Huffy, or no bike. Not my idea of a good time.YMMV.

duhhuh said: