Fuji Flair Frame Build Out

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by welshkc, May 16, 2014.

1. welshkc

welshkc New Member

Recently picked up a 1988 Fuji Flair frame in good condition.

It does not have any components.

I have never built a bike before, but have an idea what I want.

I have a Sole single speed flat-bar that I enjoy, but I would like to build a more versatile commuter bike with some gearing.

There is a long list of items I need to get for the frame, but need a place to start.

For example, it needs forks. How do I know which to get? Threaded? 1" or bigger?

Can I safely use 700c wheels or should I look for old 27" like it was original...?

If any of you have built out an old frame like this, could you point me to some references and sources for decent budget friendly parts.

Thanks for any input.

Ed

Tags:

2. alfeng

alfeng Well-Known Member

The FORK will probably be your greatest hurdle ...

• you will need a fork which has a 1" steerer
    • EITHER threaded or threadless ... for a THREADED fork, the steerer needs to be the length of the head tube PLUS about 2" to allow for the stack of the headset
    • for a THREADLESS fork, the steerer needs to be the length of the head tube PLUS about 5" (?), or more, to allow for the headset + stem + spacers ...

FWIW. Based on my limited experience with Fuji's steel frames, even though the Flair was apparently sold with 27" wheels, you can probably use any fork which has a 1" steerer that uses a regular Road brake caliper (vs. cantilever brake calipers or V-brakes) ... BUT, NO GUARANTEES!

If you decide to use 700c wheels, you will probably need LONG REACH brake calipers -- measure the distance very carefully ...

Of course, check eBay for parts.

3. welshkc

welshkc New Member

Thanks for the info. Its exactly what I needed to get started.

Ed

4. alfeng

alfeng Well-Known Member

BTW. Depending on the fork which you use, you may only need a LONG reach brake caliper for the rear brake ...