Fuller Center Bike Aventure, I need some advice!

Jumpit007

Feb 21, 2011
Ok! So I may be considered crazy, because I have never done anything like this before in my LIFE. The most I have ridden is 30 miles. In one day, and we did it like 6 times last summer.

I have decided to participate in the Fuller Center Bike Adventure with a friend this summer. Two months, 3600 miles. And we are stopping along the way to help restore houses for people who need it. We stay in churches, community centers, ect. Starts in Seattle, WA, and ends in Washington D.C.

Now, it's not like I'm completely lazy and out of shape. I ride horses, compete in jumping events. So I ride everyday. But I do have A LOT to work on to get this accomplished.

It starts June 10th. So I have until then to get prepared for this. I have a gym membership, and my friend is helping me convert my mountain bike into a road bike (Because I paid way too much for my mountain bike to not use it...). I just need some advice. Diet, workout plans, tips to avoid injury. Stuff like that.

And even books to read. I have an e-reader, so extra kudos if I can get it on my e-reader!

Thanks in advance for any information you can give me! And even if you want to give suggestions for converting my bike as well (it's a Trek 4500).

Stacey

Kudos on your undertaking!

Habitat for Humanity got me back into riding last year, but the ride I did was only 7 days/360 miles. Prior to the first day, I had never ridden more than 25 miles in one day. The first day was 55 miles, then 72 the second day, and it was cool out, so I was hurting, but a big meal and good night's sleep got me going again, and the rest of the week was much more fun, despite the constant headwinds. I started training in February on an exercise bike for the ride in May--going from the worst shape of my life to pretty close to the best at age 35