Gaining power without gaining weight

Discussion in 'Power Training' started by lanierb, Jul 19, 2005.

1. lanierb

lanierb New Member

I find that when I train hard to gain power I put on substantial leg muscle weight -- right now the difference between my trained and untrained weight is about 8 lbs (this is all legs as I have the same exact belt size and very little fat on my upper body). The shorter duration intervals I do, the more leg weight I gain.

I'm wondering if there is any form of training that would give the same power gains without building my leg muscles so much. I'm no expert but what I envision is a small efficient muscle. For example, you could imagine a small muscle firing a higher percentage of its muscle fibers per pedal stroke, then recovering quickly. Again, without being an expert I could envision this might be achieved by building better blood flow in the muscle. Does anyone know how I could adjust my training to achieve something like this? Even if it takes me a longer time to make the same power gains I'd be fine with that as I'd really like to take some weight off at the same power output.

Thanks!

Tags:

2. morana

morana New Member

yeah you are on to something there. Get the muscle fibres to fire at the same time... I remember a Dr. Gordon Wright had a session for Stuart Dangerfield to teach the fibres to fire synchronously. He called them pyramid intervals I will see if I can find the article and I will give you the gist of it......but I dont know if your weight will go up....could if be something other than muscle weight ?

3. Woofer

Woofer New Member

How old are you and how much do you weigh, and what sort of intervals are you talking about in terms of duration and output per kilogram?

4. Smartt/RST

Smartt/RST New Member

The article you mention can be found here: http://www.abcc.co.uk/
    Then click on "coaching articles" and there you'll find the article by Dr. G. Wright.

5. biker-linz

biker-linz New Member