Garmin 800 thoughts and opinions?

mark174ace

May 8, 2012
Hello all,

I am looking to possibly buy a Garmin 800 in the Spring and was looking for some feedback. The main reason I am looking to buy this unit is because of the directional and mapping ability. Plenty of cheaper devices could just measure speed, distance, and cadence, but I want more than that. This device especially appeals to me because you can download routes posted by other riders and also be able to ride freely without getting lost haha.

If I got lost I realize I could just put in my address and it would give you turn by turn directions, but I was wondering if this device records or remembers where you were during the ride so you could just turn around and go back exactly the way you came?

Also after you get home can you create a route based on where you just were, or can you just save it on the device? I am a complete novice on how these GPS devices work so I want to make sure I know what they can and cannot do before I buy the anything.

Sometimes I like to be a space cadet on my bike and just ride :)

I bought my first road bike last May and logged 1,700 miles for the season May-Oct. I am going to have a lot more free time this summer so I plan on destroying that number!

garmin series 510 & 810 are coming up soon including extra benefits like bluetooth connection between the unit and your smartphone, i saw the commercial add, potential new features are beyond your imagination, or at least what we thought possible a decade ago, its really internet + mobile phones + cycling computers all coming together !

Since the Garmin 810 is coming out, now and the next couple of months will be a good time to buy a Garmin 800. The only thing the 810 really adds is social media connectivity and the like.

Originally Posted by alienator .