Garmin gps questions

Bentt

May 5, 2016
Hey everybody!

So, as long as I can remember I've been riding with a very cheap cycling computers.
These 'gadgets' are good to see speed and time, but I'd like to see more informations.
So... I did some browsing and found some GPS's.

I think the Garmin Edge 520 for me is the best bang for buck. I've read some review and what I found was that the memory storage isn't that big. Also the map isn't that advanced. But I found out you can export better maps to the gps, but I guess the storage won't be enough than...

Do any of you know if it does have enough storage, or if there is an extra slot for an SD?

Thanks

No SD card in the 520.

I have been using a 520 since early January 2016 and a 510 for a year or so before the 520.

The 520 has limited memory available, but much more than the 510 did. I deleted the almost worthless factory map that came on the 520 and installed map tiles from OpenStreetMaps. They work well, but zooming in and out constantly can be a pain.

Overall, I like the 520. It's a step up from the 510, for sure. There are also apps available for the 520. I'm currently using a sort od color screen 'dashboard' that displays my heart rate and current speed using automotive dial type 'gauges'. The gauges are backed up with a digital numeric display and the screen displays other data simultaneously...and those data displays are user customizable and changeable. I have mine set to display total climbing and heart rate as well as distance covered.

So far I've got a lot of rides stored from day 1 and it looks like there is still plenty of memory space still left.