Gary Fisher Sugar 4 or Trek Fuel 80?

Discussion in 'Mountain Bikes' started by Tommy, Apr 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tommy

Tommy Guest

Hi,

I am very new to mountain biking, and I am trying to decide if I should get the Gary Fisher
    Sugar 4 or the Trek Fuel 80. I'll appreciate if you could give me some advice.

Currently I have a Fuji Sunfire (~$260). It's great for communting to work, but when use it to
    bike in the woods on the weekends, I begin to realize that the Fuji Sunfire is not holding up
    very well when I bike on dirt roads, especially when I go over rocks. I want to get a better
    bike that I could ride on dirt roads with rocks without feeling that the bike is going to fall
    apart. I have decided to set my budget to around $1000, and the best bike I've found is the two
    I mentioned above.

I know very litte about mountain biking, so I'll appreciate if you could answer the following
    questions:

1. Is this the right type of bike for me?
    2. Will I need to any parts for the two bike I mentioned? If so, what parts will it be, and why?
    3. Is there other bikes you recommend at the $1000 price range?
    4. You know any good websites that has info on maintaining a mountain bike?

Tommy,

Tags:

2. ..::Tbf::..

..::Tbf::.. Guest

--
    http://members.rogers.com/theblackfoxx/ "Tommy" <[email protected]> wrote in message
    news:[email protected]...
    > Hi,
    >
    > I am very new to mountain biking, and I am trying to decide if I should get the Gary Fisher
    > Sugar 4 or the Trek Fuel 80. I'll appreciate if you could give me some advice.
    >
    > Currently I have a Fuji Sunfire (~$260). It's great for communting to work, but when use it
    > to bike in the woods on the weekends, I begin to realize that the Fuji Sunfire is not holding
    > up very well when I bike on dirt roads, especially when I go over rocks. I want to get a