Gatorade, Powerade, Water, Electrolytes, ???????

C_heath

Aug 5, 2004
I just started being "healthy" and I will be doing 15-20 miles 3-4 days per week to lose weight. Im 31 years old, 5'10" 215-220 pounds and Am in the out of Shape category. Ive quit the Soft drinks and starting to eat at better places instead of the Extra Value meal #3 at McD's Even though its good lol. I dont eat it anymore. Also, drinking a ton of Aquafina everyday.

Sometimes I feel like Im going to bonk after a mile.

What do I need to do to freaking get some energy, sometimes the thought of getting on the bike or working out makes me tired lol. What should I fuel up with on the ride?

Im not FAT but I need to shed about 30-35 pounds.

Thanks in Advance

When I started riding to get relief from bad knees, everything over 30-45 minutes was hard, and any hill was murder. As you ride more it gets easier. Hydration- if you're riding hard enough to sweat drink before you ride and drink as you go. For hills and hot days I drink Gatorade- I found it really is better than plain water- but there are lots of sports drinks all about the same if you check the labels. Weight loss- eat less (but well) and burn more. Moderate cycling is great cardio exercise but you may not lose wieght unless you also watch what you eat.

I think it's virtually impossible that you are going to "bonk" (deplete carbohydrate stores from your muscles) after a mile. That would happen only after 1 - 2 hours of vigorous exercise, assuming you're well-fed and well-hydrated before you start.

I'm going to caution you... you may have an underlying health condition that only manifests after you start getting your pulse rate up. Do you have chest pain, or a feeling or burning or fullness or squeezing, extending down your arms or into your neck? Nausea? Sweating? Feelings of impeding doom? Shortness of breath? Lightheadedness? These are symptoms of heart attack.