general cycling question...

tiggere

Jul 20, 2007
I am new to cycling and have been looking for some local people to ride with...I have found a couple of folks but they mainly ride on the weekends...lately I have been seeing a few folks out riding by themselves while I have been in the car...is there an acceptable way to give them my info or is it considered taboo to interfere with someones ride...keep in mind...these folks have mainly been in "city" areas and not on backroads...so they are having to stop and go for signals and traffic as such...kinda like urban roads that connect neighborhoods...

I have asked our local bike shop for a month or so about getting a group ride going for us as they are the only bike shop within about twenty miles...they are finally going to start one up but its almost two months from now...is it better to just wait and try to find some of them that attend the group ride that live near me? The other problem I was wondering about is my skill level vs. theirs...If I can't keep up (which is very likely) they probably won't want to ride with me again anyhow...

I am open to suggestions here...thanks guys (and gals)

tiggere said:
I am new to cycling and have been looking for some local people to ride with...I have found a couple of folks but they mainly ride on the weekends...lately I have been seeing a few folks out riding by themselves while I have been in the car...is there an acceptable way to give them my info or is it considered taboo to interfere with someones ride...keep in mind...these folks have mainly been in "city" areas and not on backroads...so they are having to stop and go for signals and traffic as such...kinda like urban roads that connect neighborhoods...