getting frustrated....help please

caligirl2

Nov 4, 2006
hi, i am a newb to the cycling world. here in northern california we have "bob cats" and "mountain lions" out on our bike trails.

i have been told to be more afraid of man than beast...ok i get it. i have also been told that bob cats are more likely to run off and are shy. well....i have seen many a bob cat in the last few weeks. yeah, they are cute and all that, but the ones i have come across are definately not shy. they stare me down and do not run away.

then to boot, i have seen many men on our trail walking or riding, who dont necessarily look like the exercise type if you know what i mean, and they heckle as i ride by.

i am getting so angry at all these things, why cant a women just go out and ride her bike and feel safe. it makes me mad, it is a free country i want to enjoy it too. i just feel so many negatives...but i love riding my bike and love the results on my body too.

do any of you gals share this frustration sometimes? i carry my pepper spray, cell and id....i feel like i need a gun sometimes. not fair!!!!

ok...had to vent, thanks for listening to me. ;)

Okay, I never want to live in the USA if this is the way you feel going for a ride...

Hmm i'm in aus too and things aren't always rosy but they aren't that bad...maybe you should ride somewhere with more traffic- theory is ppl are less likely to abuse if there are witnesses around. Although i sometimes think it's best if noone at all is around. Can't guarantee that. I hate how guys can be like that. You don't get taken seriously just cos ur a good looking girl. I think looking professional, fast and aggressive is as good a deterrent as any...you can't help it and thinking about it makes you angry, i think it's good to be positive. Possibly find a riding buddy or dog that likes running (maybe savaging a few bob cats/dodgy men lol)