Getting into road biking

Tkemp534

Dec 20, 2015
Hi all,

I am a graduate student with a budget of about 350 for a bike. I'm extremely active, but have never had a road bike. This summer I biked 12 miles each way to an internship and will likely continue to bike to work and my upcoming internships for school so I figured that instead of riding my old Trek 7000 mountain bike with very aggressive mountain tires at 18 mph in Phoenix that it may be worth finding something decent to go a little faster.
I like to work on things so I wouldn't mind having something that I could upgrade in the future. I am also really competitive so there is a chance I would get into tris if I enjoy riding this thing.

I keep looking around and basically going in circles being lost. My mountain bike is a trek so I am drawn toward them (plus I think they have some of the most attractive bikes on the market). I don't know how much weight matters, or really what is important and I have no idea what age does to a road bike. I know my mountain bike has held up phenomenally for about 16 years now. I've looked briefly into getting something like a vilano forza or giordano 1.6 new, but some people have told me the frames are too heavy and wont be worth upgrading in the future. I'm currently looking at some Trek bikes including 2300, 2200, and 1000 but they all still weigh over 20 pounds and I am told that is too much.

Any recommendations would be appreciated!

Thank you

Also thinking about grabbing a Giordano Libero 1.6 and making it even better as I get money to do so.

$350 & looking under 20 lbs. Gonna be tough.
Watch CL & shop Garage sales, could get lucky.

What about getting a set of wheels/tires for the mtb off CL for the mtb, put on road tyers ?
2 sets of wheels, easy change over from road to mtb.

finding something decent to go a little faster.

The famous last words! :p

Have you checked any cyclocross bikes?