Getting myself involved: street planning pointers and patterns?

• Thread starter Andrew Chadwick
  • Start date

Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Andrew Chadwick

I've volunteered to help with the design days for the Cowley Road Matters project in East Oxford[1],
as I use that road a great deal. I've never done this kind of thing before, so does anyone have any
general guidelines and pointers that they could share?

The organisers of this process have thrown up a public wall of information and are distributing
packs describing a fairly modern arsenal of street furniture and redesign tricks which could be
used. So far they are at least -considering- making the stretch a 20mph zone[2], and don't seem
madly keen on shared use cycle tracks.

Are there any good sites out there that suggest patterns and guidelines for planning these kinds of
streets? Cowley road isn't exactly a residential area, so Home Zones and Green Streets aren't
really that applicable here. I'd also like to suggest a good source for Sheffield Stands to them.
The people I asked seemed quite receptive to the suggestion that wheelbender cycle parking is quite
a bad idea.

By the way, the major problems for cyclists on the Cowley Road are related to the general busyness
of the street, road narrowings and parking. All the independent shops along it are accessible only
from the front, and past planners seem to have really latched onto the idea that traffic islands are
a great idea.

[1] http://www.eastoxford.com/beta/eoaltd/Cowley_Road/Cowley_index.htm
[2] avg. measured speed is roughly 17.5mph during daytime hours

--
Andrew Chadwick You never hear a Cricket crowd chanting "who's the ******* in the hat?"

Andrew Chadwick wrote:
> I've volunteered to help with the design days for the Cowley Road Matters project in East
> Oxford[1], as I use that road a great deal. I've never done this kind of thing before, so does
> anyone have any general guidelines and pointers that they could share?
>