Getting ready for a Hilly Century Need Help?

redneck47441

Sep 9, 2009
I'm getting ready for a 2 day tour called the Hilly 100 it's 50 miles each day with 3 stops each day I've been riding everyday for about 25 miles each day up and down some hills should I be gyming to like stairmaster and lifting or is cycling the distance everyday the best workout! I still have a month to get ready!

i'm not a pro by any means, please don't flame me, isn't a century 100 miles in one day ?

redneck47441 said:
it's 50 miles each day with 3 stops each day I've been riding everyday for about 25 miles each day up and down some hills
Just keep riding and take every hill that you encounter as a training opportunity. You'll do fine on ride days, especially if you take advantage of the rest stops to take on water and electrolyte drinks.

If you haven't been training with an electrolyte drink, I recommend Gatorade because it's pretty easy to digest. Just don't overdo it, drink plenty of water, too.

For food stay with the easy-to-digest rule, which also means don't eat too much. You can't go wrong with fresh fruit.

And don't kill too much time at the rest stops. Pee, eat, drink, fill your bottles and pockets, and get back on the road before stopping feels too good.

You need to get some long rides in between now and then.....50 mile, 75 mile, 100 mile if you can swing it.

Looking at the website for the ride (hillyhundred.org) I'd say that unless you're pretty fit then I'd make sure you'd have some nice low gears available. The shorter hills that are less than 0.5 miles you can get up with a bit of brute force riding out of the saddle but the longer 2 mile jobbies with a max grade of 17% may need a bit more time in the saddle and lower gears.