Getting rid of aerobelly

Discussion in 'Recumbent bicycles' started by Markku Poysti, May 20, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Any opinions how to lose weight with a recumbent?

I noticed that my weight dropped by about 5 kg when i started riding about 20 km/day. Now i'm
    trying to lose more by eating less. It gets rather interesting when you try to eat just enough to
    not bonk...

Tags:

2. Doug Huffman

Doug Huffman Guest

Weight is lost with a recumbent bicycle just as weight is lost in any other case. I am pleased with
    my weight loss. I'm 54 y.o., 74", <220# (down from 260#), 60 RHR, 100/60 BP & ex-smoker.

I don't know what 'bonk' is beyond the anecdotal descriptions of it here. I suffer from postural
    syncope and may be familiar with y'all's symptoms of 'bonk' from that. The gray-outs and the
    fuzzies aren't cured by eating more.

I ride 50 Km every day or so nearly so that I'm not abashed to say so. I usually ride on an empty
    stomach and prepare for the ride with a large pot of coffee and lots of water. For a long time I
    rode from porta-pottie to tree. I eat carefully after I've ridden. Which do you want to do,
    performance riding or performance eating? I prefer the latter and riding is just pleasant.

A rule that I like is 'ride long not hard'. I save riding 'hard' for other times.

"Markku Poysti" <[email protected]_nospam> wrote in message news:[email protected]...
    > Any opinions how to lose weight with a recumbent?
    >
    > I noticed that my weight dropped by about 5 kg when i started riding about 20 km/day. Now i'm
    > trying to lose more by eating less. It gets rather interesting when you try to eat just enough to
    > not bonk...

3. G19glock1

G19glock1 Guest

I am 52, ride about 30 miles everyday and try to eat sensibly. I have gone from 224lb to 204lb. Doc
    says I should be 180lb. You have to burn 3500 calories more than you take in to lose a pound of fat.