Giant 2005 OCR Zero Upgrades

MarkC77

Sep 23, 2005
Hi guys, I am new to the road bike scene and have recently bought an '05 Giant OCR Zero. Now i will be honest and say that this bike is much more than I need and is too good for my current fitness but it went for a great price and was in the market for my first road bike so what the heck!

However I am interested to know what are the weak parts of the bike that should be upgraded early. Eg I notice that the brakes are not Ultegra, would putting ultegra brakes on make much difference?

What are the best bang for buck upgrades in my case?

Thanks.

Mark,

The bike as it comes should be OK. Peraonal taste in saddles, only if uncomfortable, can be indulged. Just enjoy the ride on a nice reliable bike.. :cool:

MarkC77 said:
Hi guys, I am new to the road bike scene and have recently bought an '05 Giant OCR Zero. Now i will be honest and say that this bike is much more than I need and is too good for my current fitness but it went for a great price and was in the market for my first road bike so what the heck!

However I am interested to know what are the weak parts of the bike that should be upgraded early. Eg I notice that the brakes are not Ultegra, would putting ultegra brakes on make much difference?

What are the best bang for buck upgrades in my case?

Thanks.
It's a very good bike already (well, by my standards!), and, depending on your usage, there may be nothing that *SHOULD* be upgraded! The saddle is something that may not suit you, but there is no need to change it if it is already comfortable. You could pay a lot of money to get different wheels, since the Shimano's use proprietary spokes which may be difficult to replace in an emergency. I don't think that Ultegra brakes would make it stop much better, though they may be slightly lighter (don't know for sure).

roshea said: