Giant Cypress bicycle

mali

Jun 1, 2003
hi everyone can anyone tell me if you have any experience on this mountain bike - Giant Cypress??
thanks a lot

I own the LX model, but I upgraded nearly all the components - the frame is solid though, and the manitou fork is midrange, but fine for my purposes (loaded touring on 'gravel at worst' roads)

Ohh and the Cypress really isn't a 'Mountain Bike'. It's a hybrid with 700c tires that are really built for road comfort, with LIGHT trail work (more like fire-roads).

Plus the 'stock' gearing is much too high for a mountain bike.

[thanks a lot coolworx, I am a novice in this cycling business, but eager to learn. What exactly means a hybrid? I thought it was a mountain bike (zeal without knowldge of begginers)
I went riding on it this morning for the first time, and was shocked at how different the gears are from a mountain bike I had. It felt harder in the same gears I used to ride on the other bike. But I am happy with the weight of it, and I hope to ride lots with it.
Thanks again for your help.

A hybrid is somewhat in-between a road bike and mountain bike. Around here (Melbourne, Aust.) they seem to be a popular choice for commuting.

It typically has 700c road bike type wheels (with higher than average tyre clearance for wide tyres), but has flat handlebars and an upright riding position that's somewhat similar to a mountain bike.

If a particular hybrid has suspension, it's typically tuned and designed more for rider comfort than being able to tackle dodgy off-road terrain.

thanks a lot rek, I am in South Africa, and not many commute by bike here, I am using it to exercise in the mornings early.

Rek:
A hybrid is somewhat in-between a road bike and mountain bike.

Ya really think so Rek? I think it's just a road bike with a front suspension, MTB handlebars, and the fork/dropout clearance for wider tires.

Even if you slap on knobbies, the frame geometries suck for any serious off-road adventures.