Giant TCR 1 sizing

msander19

Aug 25, 2006
Hi guys, I have a question regarding the sizing of the Giant TCR alloy. I have an opportunity to buy a very cheap 04 TCR alloy online. However, the window of opportunity closes very quickly and I'm not going to have a chance to go and try the particular bike out. I'm not overly worried about that as I'm just getting into road biking and I know the bike is an excellent one, but I'm not sure about the sizing. I know the bike uses compact geometry sizing (whatever that means), which means it fits quite different from other bikes. So my question is, for a guy about 6'0 tall with a 34.5" inseam, what size frame woudl I need? Giants website seems to make it look like M, ML, or L would work...although ML isn't made in this frame. I know this might be an annoying question, but please help a newbie out. Thanks.

Just for the record, this is the bike:

http://www.giant-bicycle.com/us/030.000.000/030.000.006.asp?year=2004&model=10813

I had thought it was a TCR 1 but that was a mistake.

gclark8 said:
Which TCR, there are many models, alloy, Tri, composite...
http://www.giant-bicycle.com/us/030.000.000/030.000.006.asp?year=2004
Each has a geometry page under the pix.

As for frame sizing, http://www.giant-bicycle.com/us/050.000.000/050.600.100.asp I guess the large. :)

Not a good idea to buy a custom fitted bike on line. :rolleyes:
It's a TCR alloy, 2004 model. I realize it's probably not the smartest thing to do, which I acknowledged in my earlier post, but the deal is too good to pass up ($600 shipped, that is pretty good for a lightly used one is it not?) even if the fit ends up being less then ideal and I'm forced to resell it. The chart on the website isn't very helpful and I'm really looking for people who have experience using these bikes or fitting people for them. More sizing help please, lol.