Good bike for long distances?

Guaps

Aug 14, 2006
Short version:
I'm looking for a bike that will be comfortable for long distances (70+ miles at a time) for about $2,000. Ideas? I'm open to buying used.

Longer version:
I'm looking to buy a bike. I've been riding a bike I picked up used for $250 for about 10 months now - it's a Scattante (Performance Bike) aluminum w/ carbon fork. I like riding long distances, but with this bike I can feel every tiny bump in the road, and I'm looking for something a little more forgiving for long distances. I've finally saved up some cash to go buy a better bike. What do you guys/gals suggest? I've got about $2K and I'd buy a used bike if that's a good option.

Thanks!

bobbyOCR said:
Interesting you brought up the Bottecchia. I was looking at that bike yesterday. I even considered that same idea (buying it for the components only), but I wasn't sure what I could get for the frame. Seems like a great deal though. Why do you say to sell the frame? Is it that bad?

Thanks for the Pedalforce link. I've never heard it. Problem is, the next major ride I'm training for is a 200 mile ride in September. So I'd like to get the bike in the next couple weeks so I can put some time in before the ride.

Awesome ideas. I may go this route even if i can't get the bike in time.

Guaps said:
Short version:
I'm looking for a bike that will be comfortable for long distances (70+ miles at a time) for about $2,000. Ideas? I'm open to buying used.

Longer version:
I'm looking to buy a bike. I've been riding a bike I picked up used for $250 for about 10 months now - it's a Scattante (Performance Bike) aluminum w/ carbon fork. I like riding long distances, but with this bike I can feel every tiny bump in the road, and I'm looking for something a little more forgiving for long distances. I've finally saved up some cash to go buy a better bike. What do you guys/gals suggest? I've got about $2K and I'd buy a used bike if that's a good option.

Thanks!