Good bike for overweight beginner?

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by lobstar, Mar 15, 2004.

1. lobstar

lobstar New Member

Hi. I'm looking for advice on, as the header says, a good bike for an overweight beginner. I am not a techie by any stretch of the imagination, and what little information I can find online about bicycles for heavier riders discusses things in terms I don't quite understand and the writers apparently believe everyone reading knows how to build a bike from scratch. Um, no. Likewise, most of the rider weight limits I see for bikes online are significantly lower than my weight. I am 6'0" and weigh about 335-340 pounds. (I know, that's a lot, but it used to be more.) I've been exercising pretty regularly for a while now, including riding a stationary bike, but it's so boring. I want to be outside. Besides, I live in a big city and don't own a car and would love to avoid taking public transportation everywhere.

Obviously, I'm not looking for diet or exercise advice or insults about my weight being so high, I'm just wondering if anyone knows of any specific bikes that would work for me and not cost hundreds and hundreds of dollars. I'm thinking no more than $250.

All thoughtful and helpful responses appreciated.

L

Tags:

2. Rompinrhino

Rompinrhino New Member

I'll give this a shot, lets see here.