Good deal on a 2007 Bianchi Volpe?

LaCroix

Jun 29, 2011
Hey everyone!

I'm just getting into cycling, but I've done a lot of research. I've decided to shoot for the Tiagra component group, and after a handful of test rides, decided to go for a steel frame with a fairly relaxed geometry. This narrowed my search to the Bianchi Volpe, Surly Pacer, Salsa Casseroll, and the Masi Speciale.

I've called around to all the LBS that carry steel frames, and I've only found one bike in my size (61cm). In Oklahoma City there is a shop that has a brand new 2007 Bianchi Volpe. I'm guessing I can get some kind of deal on it considering its age, not to mention they retailed for about $200 less then.

My question is should I spring for a bike this old? I love the bike and will likely order a 2011 if I don't get this one. They have changed a few components over the years, like changing the brakes and crank to Tiagra, but the bike in 2007 was still mostly Tiagra. Has there been much if any change to this component group since 2007? I've looked around online but have not been able to find anything.

How low should I expect them to go on a bike from 2007? I'm going to go test ride it today after work. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!