Good indoor trainer for a cheapskate?

tictactoe

Jul 21, 2003
I'm relatively new to cycling so I don't want to drop a lot of cash on a trainer, but I want to keep riding my road bike through the winter. I'm deciding between a fluid trainer and rollers, because in addition to training I'm sure my balance and spin could use a little work. I will be riding in an apartment with carpeting, if that makes any difference.

Please share your experiences with either fluid trainers or rollers, and if you can recommend a brand or model, that would be great too. Thanks!

Ok, this thread has gotten a ton of views, so people are obviously curious, but only 1 response. Please respond with your thoughts on trainers you may have used, what they cost, whether you thought they were worth it, or what you think is the best trainer for the money.

Thanks!

I've got a Tacx Cycleforce One magnetic trainer and a set of Tacx SportTrack folding rollers. Both cheapish (around AUD$340 and AUD$285 respectively, from memory), but the best I could get on the particular weekends when I decided I absolutely had to have such things. The rollers were the only set I could get "off the floor", in fact... the guy who served me at the bike shop said he personally hadn't anyone ask about rollers for years, although since they had a set there there must be some interest. The fluid trainers I've seen in catalogues and online here are AUD$480 or more, for comparison. I haven't tried them since none of the bike shops I went to had any in stock.