Good Tires for Cdale?

Status
Not open for further replies.
N

Nathan

Hello,

The Mavvis tires on the Easy Rider are nice all around tires, but I think they are not great road
tires. Has anyone put a different set of tires on the stock rims? Did you like them? Did you get
better performance? Did handling suffer?

Nathan Gifford

While i have no experience with the C''dale bent, I have ridden various CLWB with different configs. I used to own a BikeE (actually still do, but wife rides it). I found the Hookworms to be great and stable. They'd better be for nearly 2" wide. But, like you, I looked for road tires.

I would suggest Kenda Kwests or Primo Comets. Yeah, I know some hate Comets but I have had overwhelmingly good luck with them.

Use Mr. Tuffy liners on either of them though...IMHO.

These tires being thinner will add great responsiveness to your ride. Your ease of pedalling should be better.

Derek

Originally posted by Nathan
Hello,

The Mavvis tires on the Easy Rider are nice all around tires, but I think they are not great road
tires. Has anyone put a different set of tires on the stock rims? Did you like them? Did you get
better performance? Did handling suffer?

Nathan Gifford

"Nathan" <[email protected]> wrote in message news:<[email protected]>...
> Hello,
>
> The Mavvis tires on the Easy Rider are nice all around tires, but I think they are not great road
> tires. Has anyone put a different set of tires on the stock rims? Did you like them? Did you get
> better performance? Did handling suffer?
>
> Nathan Gifford

I installed Comets and I gained about 2~3 mph on my average speed. Just a note. Be sure to check
them between rides and rest stops. On more than one occasion I have found embedded glass in them.
Lucky I found this before it wore into the tube.

I found that the Comets were very slick when wet. I now have a Kwest on the front and an S-Lick on
the rear of my BikeE (same size tires at the Cannondale). I find these to be fast and stable. Craig