Grease on BB taper?

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Mr Bonkers

Hi,

I am sorry if this has been asked a million times already (I did search...)... Should you grease the
BB taper before you fit cranks?

I have always left mine grease-free on all my bikes untill I was unable to stop some creaking on my
jump bike no matter how much I tightened the crank bolt. After greasing, there is no noise at all.

Thanks, Rob

There are as many who say grease it as their are who say it will hasten your cranks trip on the
road to hell.

Personally, I'm a part of the grease school. As a machinist, I know what can happen when two
dissimilar metals stay in contact to long, especially when exposed to the weather.

I light smearing is all you need.

May you have the wind at your back. And a really low gear for the hills! Chris

Chris'Z Corner "The Website for the Common Bicyclist": http://www.geocities.com/czcorner

Chris Corner writes:

> Personally, I'm a part of the grease school. As a machinist, I know what can happen when two
> dissimilar metals stay in contact to long, especially when exposed to the weather.

Grease only facilitates a consistent press fit on installation. In use, all grease is displaced from
the contact interface through fretting motions. As is explained in the FAQ, aluminum oxide of the
crank erodes the flat faces of the steel spindle by these elastic motions.

If you want to visualize this you can consider metal parts made of rubber of hardness relative
to the actual parts and then load them. This is what occurs, although in microscopic dimensions
in reality.

Jobst Brandt [email protected] Palo Alto CA

"Mr Bonkers" <mr.bonkers@[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
> I am sorry if this has been asked a million times already (I did search...)... Should you grease
> the BB taper before you fit cranks?
>
> I have always left mine grease-free on all my bikes untill I was unable to stop some creaking on