Groupset advice

Motosonic

Aug 25, 2016
Good Afternoon, folks. I'm located in the US and I currently ride a 2012 Wilier Granturismo with an Ultegra 10 speed drivetrain.. I do mainly recreational cycling.. a lot of group rides.. mostly for charity (i'm a disabled veteran).. so, I'm not quite professional level.

Anyways, I recently had to replace my Ultegra shifters.. they had a lot of miles on them and the rear just stopped shifting.. and the front wasn't performing well either.. So, I went wit Shimano 105 shifters and they work great.. but, the rest of my drivetrain is just as old as those shifters. So, I started to think, maybe it's time to upgrade the drivetrain to 11 speed? Now, I don't want or need Dura Ace for SRAM Red.. nor do I have the cash to fork out for that... but, my bikes have always come with Shimano Drivetrains.. and I'm considering SRAM (Force 22?). I know the whole Shimano/SRAM/Campy thing is a big debate. But, due to the costs of a new groupo, is it even worth it? Everywhere I look, they're super pricey.. I can't seem to find a good deal.. and #2, I can't install it myself.. so, I have to factor in labor. So, I guess my question is, should I even bother? Would I notice a difference if I went to something like Force 22? And is there somewhere that'l cut a poor old vet like myself a deal on one?
I'd love to hear opinions on this. The bike shops are always like "YEAH! UPGRADE!! DO IT! It'll only be $1000".. and I WANT to buy the parts local, but I just can;t justify spending 2x the amount for the same thing, that'd bring it out of my price range completely.

One last thing. IF i did order online, I need to make sure I get the correct parts since there are different deraileurs (front and back), etc. And I don't know what to choose. To add to that, My understanding is that I could use the chain ring and cranks that's on my bike currently on the 10 speed.. is that true? It's a FSA SL-k Carbon/
Thanks!