gyming to improve power

franco1

May 17, 2004
I've started gyming, hoping it will help with improve my power on the bike.

Do I need to do heavy weights or high repition to improve my strength. Also what worries me is the fact that I'm putting on muscle weight.

Originally posted by franco1
I've started gyming, hoping it will help with improve my power on the bike.

Do I need to do heavy weights or high repition to improve my strength. Also what worries me is the fact that I'm putting on muscle weight.

if you're an endurance racing cyclist (e.g., RR, TT, MTB, XC, Track endurance, etc) it's a waste of time (unless you've just started exercise and cycling). Lots of threads on this!!

ric

Originally posted by ricstern
if you're an endurance racing cyclist (e.g., RR, TT, MTB, XC, Track endurance, etc) it's a waste of time (unless you've just started exercise and cycling). Lots of threads on this!!

ric

Hi Ric

No I've been riding for 18 years, 5 of those years where semi pro and then as an elite. Now I race jnr vet's 30-34.

I'm coming back from an injury (sciatica) and I've been off the bike for 3.5months and I've got an important race coming up at the end of July and its a very hilly coarse of 150km long.

So I thought gyming would help me build strength which I would need, I try and do power/strength workout on my bike on a wind trainer in the mornings and gym at night.

Talking about workouts, on wind trainer what workouts can I do to improve my power?

Hi Ric

No I've been riding for 18 years, 5 of those years where semi pro and then as an elite. Now I race jnr vet's 30-34.

I'm coming back from an injury (sciatica) and I've been off the bike for 3.5months and I've got an important race coming up at the end of July and its a very hilly coarse of 150km long.

So I thought gyming would help me build strength which I would need, I try and do power/strength workout on my bike on a wind trainer in the mornings and gym at night.