Handlebar Advice

coolrunnin

Nov 1, 2007
I've been riding a road bike for a couple of years nowand could use some advice. When I ride, after just a few miles my thumb and the valley of my palm really start to ache. I, of course, wear gloves, but to no avail. What do you think about flat top handlebars to relieve the pressure? Can anyone recommend a good one? Thanks, Cool.

coolrunnin said:
I've been riding a road bike for a couple of years nowand could use some advice. When I ride, after just a few miles my thumb and the valley of my palm really start to ache. I, of course, wear gloves, but to no avail. What do you think about flat top handlebars to relieve the pressure? Can anyone recommend a good one? Thanks, Cool.
Could be lots of things, but flat handle bars won't help much IMO. They actually have fewer places to put your hands on long rides so the get numb quicker with fewer reliefs.

It sounds like fit. I had this problem when I started. To much weight on the bars. Try tilting your saddle back just enough so your not sliding forward. You can also try slightly bending your arms to relieve pressure and weight. Finally, for me I changed glove manufacturers. They all put padding in different places that can put pressure where you're not comfortable having it. I use Pearl Izumi Gel lites. They don't put padding on that nerve that's bothering you. My 2¢.:)

Consider moving your seat rearwards, shortening your stem, or even getting a frame with a shorter top tube. You can also experiment with the tilt of the handlebar and the position of the shifters on the handlebar. In general, you need to try to find a position that has your rear end further back and your torso more erect, to put more weight on your bum and feet.
A flat handlebar might solve your problem, as it will move your torso up and back, but as another poster has mentioned, it will give you fewer alternative positions.

coolrunnin said: