Has anyone here had Trek replace a Carbon frame under warranty?

SD2006

Jun 19, 2006
I'm curious as to the general success people have had making warranty claims with big ticket carbon items like frames or forks. There seems to be a lot of debate as to the exact meaning of "lifetime warranty" and I was hoping to hear first person accounts of how Trek handled customer's claims.

Thanks...

SD2006 said:
I'm curious as to the general success people have had making warranty claims with big ticket carbon items like frames or forks. There seems to be a lot of debate as to the exact meaning of "lifetime warranty" and I was hoping to hear first person accounts of how Trek handled customer's claims.

Thanks...

I have no first-hand knowledge. However, a warranty is an enforceable contract. If you are interested or concerned about Trek's warranting of their frames, you should carefully read their warranty to ascertain the circumstances whereby Trek would replace or repair their frames.

SD2006 said:

Thanks...
once again, no first hand experience, and i'm sure you've had your fill of "well my friend's cousin's wife's nephew who races professionally" stories...but..here goes

i've had 2 comments regarding trek's warranty (the reason i bought a trek rather than giant). the first through a bikeshop where they said someone brought in an old trek cf frame from the mid 90's (did mt. dew sponsor something at that time). anyways the seat stays had broken, and trek replaced it with the comparable value bike from that year (i don't want to mention specifics...5500 sounds right).