Has anyone tried the Garmin Edge 800?

longcyclehome

Oct 19, 2011
I Just recently purchased a Garmin Edge 800.Has anyone had experience using this for a long distance? I mainly want it for cycle navigation and not the heart rate or ride information. I dont want to open the box yet but from what I can see the GPS system is not as clear or as detailed as the one on my phone, Which I couldnt use all day of course

If anyone has any feedback on this product then I would like to hear from you what you think about the product. I am thinking about refunding it

I have been using the Garmin 800 for about 6 months and the 705 before that.
You will have to get the maps in order to get detail. I purchased the maps preloaded on the SDmicro card, but there are free versions on the web if you want to buy a micro card and then load.

I cannot promise you will like it better than your phone. I have used my iphone on the bike with a Wahoo case, but my preference is the Garmin 800.

You can get maps that are better than the Garmin maps for free. As an added bonus, the Garmin 800 only uses its battery when you're cycling. The phone uses its battery when you talk and do everything else that you do on it, in addition to cycling. The net result is that you'll get longer rides out of the Garmin than you will your phone. Likewise, the GPS in the Garmin tends to be more accurate than that of the one in phones, or so say a lot of folks who have mapped with both.

I've written a few blog posts about mapping options on the Garmin Edge 800, with some video tutorials thrown in too, so you can actually see what the differences are.
It's useful to compare the OS discoverer maps with the free OSM maps such as VeloMap and TalkyToaster.

See my blog at www.scarletfire.co.uk

http://www.scarletfire.co.uk/2012/02/osm-maps/ - comparison of OSM versus OS discoverer