Heavy legs after riding, feel slow for other sports

looseleftie

Apr 17, 2014
Hi, relatively newbie here, 2 months in, and going really well!! Love it, however noticed that my legs feel very heavy and slow after a good ride of approx. an 1 hour or so going at a steady pace. I ride in mornings, generally 4-5 times a week, however after ride, I feel that I have dead legs. When I finish ride, I cycle for another 5 min, just spinning without going anywhere in particular, just to avoid stiffness.. I also play various sports and feel slow and sluggish, and would love some clarification on whether this is down to my cycling?? Can anyone explain this? or is this just my imagination? Cheers guys

How long have you been cycling and what type of terrain are you riding.It will also help others answer your question if you elaborate on your diet, Hydration,your weight, how much you sleep and duration of other activities.

5'10" 69 kg, pretty active. My usual ride comprises 5-6 hills (some of them are pretty hard in truth, varying in gradient/distance from 500m-3km and a few flat sections, real mixed bag, but there is definitely a focus on hills to be honest. I ride on good roads also. My diet is good, eat healthy foods and always drink water, before , during and after physical activity.. I usually don't eat anything pre ride, have a drink of water before ride, and when I get home after shower I have solid breakfast, high in fibre and carbs. I keep drinking throughout day. I also, apart from my legs feeling dead, find that overall my body is just stuffed by early afternoon, perhaps it's due to me being 44yr?!?! Still I'm quite fit from previous sports such as tennis/running.. Rather confusing, I guess the one thing that I can think of is that I'm only getting 6 and a half hours sleep per night.. Not a great deal I know.