Hello! Newbie Roadbiker

SilentShifter

Aug 23, 2005
Hey everyone!!

My name is Jason I'm 24 years old, and I just stumbled across this page earlier today. I have had some mountain bike experience in the past but nothing serious.

I really want to get into road biking and have looked at the 2005 Trek 1500, specialized allez and the fuji roubaix. I am 6ft 3in tall so I guess I would need a 60cm/Large traditional frame bike or a 58cm compact frame.

It seems that the Trek 1500 has the most for the money. I only want to spend about $1k. Any input would really help!:confused:

The only concerns I have, which have kept me from purchasing a road bike this long are (1) the narrow road tires - make me nervous coming from a massive mountain bike tire (2) the wrecks have gotta hurt compared to crashing in the dirt!:eek: hahaha, go easy on me, here.

Anyway, any input or help is greatly appreciated and I look forward to getting to know you all!

-J

SilentShifter said:
The only concerns I have, which have kept me from purchasing a road bike this long are (1) the narrow road tires - make me nervous coming from a massive mountain bike tire (2) the wrecks have gotta hurt compared to crashing in the dirt!:eek: hahaha, go easy on me, here.
1) You'll get used to the tires.
2) The wrecks hurt like hell, but they happen less frequently.

Have fun with your new addiction. :D

SilentShifter said:
Hey everyone!!

My name is Jason I'm 24 years old, and I just stumbled across this page earlier today. I have had some mountain bike experience in the past but nothing serious.

I really want to get into road biking and have looked at the 2005 Trek 1500, specialized allez and the fuji roubaix. I am 6ft 3in tall so I guess I would need a 60cm/Large traditional frame bike or a 58cm compact frame.

It seems that the Trek 1500 has the most for the money. I only want to spend about $1k. Any input would really help!:confused: