Help? 1970's lejeune

zeeto

Feb 1, 2008
Hi,
Hope this is appropriate for this forum, I'm a newbie and copuld use an opinion or two.

Got my old Lejeune out of the airconditioned, finished basement where it has sat for 20+ yrs. Want to sell it and maybe start over, it's a little uncomfortable for me. Not a problem when I was younger but.... we won't talk about age.

Stats:
Reynolds 531 frame and forks
Rigidia Aluminum rims
Mafac Competition brakes
Stronglight crank
Simplex derailleurs
Pivo handlebars

Center to center 23.5"
Top tube 23"
27 x1.25 tires

All original except tires and possibly the Christophe clips and straps. Not sure. Cable casings are originals, lejeune red and not cracked. One paint chip, very few scratches. No rust except some surface rust on the unpainted parts of the forks. I imagine the proper product would take it off without much if any pitting.

Is there a market for this bike? Price estimates please? I'd like to know what the pros think before I put it on eBay. Hell, maybe I'll fix it up and ride it again!

There really is not much of a market for 5+ year old bikes. There may be a collector or someone who wants that particular bike that will pay well for it, but the general public wants a more modern bike. From the photos and description, I would say that you may get $50 - $75 on eBay.

list it on craigs list for 100.00 dollars and see what happens. Or, change it to a single speed or a fixie and list it for 150.00. It wil sell.