Help choosing hybrid bike for young lady

GrumpyGrumps

Mar 28, 2011
Complete novice at this so any help appreciated.

I am looking for a hybrid bike for my 14 year old daughter. It will mainly be used on the road and cycle paths.

I am considering a Dawes Discovery 201 and a Giant Escape 4 as they both fall into my price point. I was also looking at a Carerra Crossfire 1 but have been advised against it by a friend.

With my daughter we have tried a Dawes 101 (and the Giant Escape 4) for size but noticed we can get a 201 actually cheaper on line than the 101 on the local bike shop. There are no stock of the 201 locally to view, but she prefers the Giant's look and finish over the Dawes 101 though the Giant is a little more expensive.

As I have said I am no expert at all but I did notice the Giant does not have reinforced rims unlike the 201. Which is the superior machine ?

Specs below.

Giant
[FONT= 'Arial']Escape 4[/FONT]
Dawes
[FONT= 'Arial']Discovery 201[/FONT]
Frame
[FONT= 'Arial']AluxX aluminium[/FONT]
Frame
[FONT= 'Arial']hybrid Dynamism alloy tubeset[/FONT]
Fork
[FONT= 'Arial']HiTensile steel[/FONT]
Fork
[FONT= 'Arial']Hi-tensile steel[/FONT]
Front [FONT= 'Arial']Derailleur[/FONT]
[FONT= 'Arial']Shimano TX51[/FONT]
Front [FONT= 'Arial']Derailleur[/FONT]
[FONT= 'Arial']Shimano FD-C051[/FONT]
Rear Derailleur
[FONT= 'Arial']Shimano TX51[/FONT]
Rear Derailleur
[FONT= 'Arial']Shimano RD-TX51[/FONT]
Shifters
[FONT= 'Arial']Shimano EZ Fire 50 21 speed[/FONT]
Shifters
[FONT= 'Arial']Shimano EF-50 21 speed[/FONT]
Stem
[FONT= 'Arial']Giant aluminium ahead[/FONT]
Stem
[FONT= 'Arial']Alloy quill[/FONT]
Seat Post
[FONT= 'Arial']Aluminium[/FONT]
Seat Post
Alloy suspension 27.2mmx350mm
Saddle
[FONT= 'Arial']Giant for Women Pure Sport[/FONT]
Saddle
[FONT= 'Arial']Dawes sports[/FONT]
Pedals
[FONT= 'Arial']Resin anti slip [/FONT]
Pedals
[FONT= 'Arial']Black resin with grey grip[/FONT]
Brakes
[FONT= 'Arial']Tektro linear pull[/FONT]
Brakes
[FONT= 'Arial']Alloy V-brake[/FONT]