Help/critique my training plan

ruleof72

Jan 18, 2006
I've been riding seriously for 4 years and started training with power in May. In the two months I've had the Powertap I've learned alot about my strengths and weaknesses and I feel more in control of my training than ever before. I have a limited amount of time to train, typically 4-6 hours a week and I like to do a few crits/circuit races each year as well as shorter TT's. Here's some basic info:

FTP:270watts
Hrs/week: 4-6
Weekly TSS: 550-600
I am a fairly strong group rider and enjoy climbing but have trouble dealing with the surges in longer, less technical crits.

I've settled into a pattern of training that looks like this most weeks:

Mon: rest
Tues: WU then 6-8x1 minute hill repeats at 400 watts with 3 minute recoveries
Wed: Fast group ride of ninety minutes or so or 3-5x4 minute intervals on trainer at 300watts average with 4 minute recoveries plus WU/CD
Thurs: 2x20-30 minutes at 235-240watts
Fri: rest
Sat: 30 minutes outdoors with frequent 10sec surges (500-700watts) then 30minutes SST at 220watts on trainer
Sun: Moderate group ride of 30-45 miles

I have a couple more crits this year and that's about it. I am usually pack fodder but have fun racing. My thinking is the Tues and Sat workouts will help me to handle the crits while the other days should help build overall strength while also working FTP enough. Next year I'd really like to be able to do well in the crits, not just hang, as well as do some more TT's. I've got lots of time before next March so what am I doing correctly, or not, and how should I approach the next 7 months?

If you want to improve in crits I would recommend a more crit orientated ride 1/2 times a week.