HELP! "Frozen" seatpost!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Mike

Well, I've finally encountered one I couldn't crack. Aluminum alloy seatpost stuck in an older Aegis
carbon frame. Looks like there's a steel insert surrounding the post, 'cause I can see some rust.
Usually, if after trying various brands of "rust-busters" and WD-40 with no success, I take out the
propane torch and heat the post, let it cool, and out it comes. I've reasoned that simply heating
and therefore "expanding" the post, only to let it cool again and contract, would buy me just enough
"space." Combine that with differing expansion coefficients and rates, dissimilar metals, etc.,
etc., and you "break" the bond. I'm no engineer, but it has never failed me before. Well, not this
time, even after trying all of the above repeatedly. LAY YOUR BEST RECIPE ON ME! Thanks, Mike

"Mike" <[email protected]> wrote in message
news:[email protected]...
> Well, I've finally encountered one I couldn't crack. Aluminum alloy seatpost stuck in an older
> Aegis carbon frame. Looks like there's a steel insert surrounding the post, 'cause I can see some
> rust. Usually, if after trying various brands of "rust-busters" and WD-40 with no success, I take
> out the propane torch and heat the post, let it cool, and out it comes. I've reasoned that simply
> heating and therefore "expanding" the post, only to let it cool again and contract, would buy me
> just enough "space." Combine that with differing expansion coefficients and rates, dissimilar
> metals, etc., etc., and you "break" the bond. I'm no engineer, but it has never failed me before.
> Well, not this time, even after trying all of the above repeatedly. LAY YOUR BEST RECIPE ON ME!
> Thanks, Mike

You heated a post in a carbon frame with a propane torch?? Hmmm..Well, nevertheless, you can try
cutting off the top the seat post to a point about an inch or 2 above the seat lug. Then you can