help: i break rear freehub bodies regularly...

Discussion in 'Cycling Equipment' started by Bigfaceworm, May 8, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bigfaceworm

Bigfaceworm Guest

All,

I'm a hobbyist mountain biker (road too). I weigh 250# and am 6'4", with strong legs.

I regularly break the freehub bodies when I ride in Moab Utah on the slickrock surfaces there.
    (I go once a year for vacation.) I generally break them while climbing the short 20-30% grades
    in a low gear.

Each of the past two years I've broken the freehub body on two consecutive days (thankfully Poison
    Spider bike shop warrantied the part both times). The freehubs I've broken are Shimano XT/LX/other.

My current count is 8 freehub bodies in the past 5 years.

I'm tired of breaking them and am looking for another solution.

Phil Wood gets high praise, but they do have the same basic design (pawls) - and that's a bit
    worrisome. Chris King has their RingDrive(tm) - which sounds cool, but nobody else has that design
    and I worry about that.

I generally ride single track and dirt roads, with the annual trip to Moab. No big drops for me,
    just lots of climbing.

Any help?

thanks,

BFW

Tags:

2. B. Sanders

B. Sanders Guest

"bigfaceworm" <[email protected]> wrote in message
    news:[email protected]...

> I weigh 250# and am 6'4", with strong legs. I regularly break the freehub bodies The freehubs I've
    > broken are Shimano XT/LX/other. I'm tired of breaking them and am looking for another solution.

> Chris King has their RingDrive(tm) - which sounds cool, but nobody else has that design and I
    > worry about that.

Call Chris King and tell them your story: The King hub is probably your answer; but let them tell
    you if a King hub is for you or not. They're reputed to be bombproof; but most people don't destroy
    freehubs like you do, so maybe they're not made for that kind of abuse.