Help me build a Look KG 181

foxyvet

Aug 3, 2011
So i got my hands on the LOOK KG 181 from 1998 i think. It's a carbon frame and a carbon fork. I am told Jalabert used this type of frame. it happens to be my size. i am thrilled. here is what the frame looks like. it's a classic.

http://www2.ocn.ne.jp/~bikeueki/kg181.jpg

i used to be an avid mountain biker with a Trek Y22 carbon XTR/XT. I am used to the crispy responsiveness of high end components and i wish to maintain that. i gave up mountain biking when i started having back problems, it's been 10yrs.

i want to slowly build this bike with performing road components (105 or Ultegra or ?) but i do not want to break the bank as i am a student. Also due to back issues, i want a touring/moustache/albatros upright seating position as if it was a city bike. i understand that this will represent an issue for the break leavers and shifters so any insight will be highly appreciated.

so far i got:

- 2010 SHIMANO ULTEGRA BR6700 CALIPERS
- Mach1 Shimano 105 5700 Road Bike Wheelset 36H NEW.

As i am shopping for deals on the components, i am starting to get a headache for compatibility.

1- Can i mix and match Ultegra 6500, 6600, and 6700? or do i have to stick to one of the series?
2- What about mixing the above with 105 or some Dura Ace if i am lucky?
3- What is the rule when you are mixing components? what should i look for?
4- Do you recommend other components of quality that might be cheaper than Shimano?

Questions 1-3 are virtually the same question asked in three different ways.