Help Me Understand The $100 Dollar Word - "Sport"

Trighap

Oct 16, 2013
Howdy folks. I am a complete newb, no denial of that here. But I went to a bike store and was strongly advised to get a Specialized Hardrock Sport Disc 29. I loved it during my short test ride, so smooth and strong. I left the store and check it online for reviews and such, and like what I see. But there's also the Specialized Hardrock Disc 29 (the non-sport version) which cost 100 dollars less but also seems to be well reviewed... I can't see WHY there is a price difference though, the stats seem the same to my newb eyes. Can anyone advise me as to whether the Sport version is a necessary purchase for an overweight male who is purchasing a bike for a commute over basically normal roads, or would the non-sport be sufficient? Thanks to any who reply. 8^)

The biggest differences are a mechanical lockout for the front forks on the Sport; hydraulic disc brakes on the sport; and a bit higher spec derailleurs. The sport might actually offer the best bang for the buck, but if $100 makes it too much, not buying the Sport won't be the biggest loss in the world, especially as you're using the bike for commuting. I'll add, however, that unless the roads you'll be riding are cratered like the streets in a bombed out village, having suspension on a commuter bike is a bit of a waste. You might want to consider a bike like one of the Sirrus line (like the Sirrus Sport). I would also suggest considering other brands and their similar models, like perhaps the 7.2 FX disc or 7.4 FX disc from Trek. Virtually every brand has a version of such bikes. I'd also suggest getting test rides on some bikes. A bike shop doesn't deserve your money if they won't allow you to take test rides. Other brands you might consider (and this list certainly isn't exhaustive) include Giant, Raleigh, Jamis, Felt....