Help me with my anerobic threshold

Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Realdean

I'm new to cycling and need an opinion on how I determined my anerobic threshold. I'm 45 years old
and weigh 170lbs. I have a resting heart rate of 41 upon rising. After standing my HR jumps to 62.
During the day my HR ranges between 68 and 82 BPM working as a pharmacist. Using a Cycle-ops Fluid
Trainer I warmed up for 5 minutes at a cadance of 90. At 5 minutes my heart rate was 112BPM
cycling at
13.2mph. Then at every other odd minute I increased my cycle speed keeping the same cadance of 90.
The even minutes were used to recover, but the same 90 cadance was maintained. At the 17 minute
interval my HR was 160bpm, cadance was 90 and my speed was 19.7mph. My HR hit a plateau over the
next 6 minutes. At 23 minutes my HR was 162. My bicycle speed was 22.2MPH. At 25 minutes I began
to deteriorate. I could not maintain a 90 cadance. My HR was 165 and my bicycle speed fell off
dramatically. I ASSUME THAT I REACHED MY ANEROBIC THRESHOLD somewhere at the 24-25 minute mark.
My perceived exersion was greater than 90%. I went no further. I have been training for only 3
months. I use a HR monitor. I have NEVER seen a HR abouve 170BPM. Some cyclist that I train with
say that I should be able to get my HR in the 180 to 210 range but it is my understanding that
one's maxiumum heart rate is genetically marked. So my question is....based on the data I
obtained, could it be that my max HR is about 170 and my redline zone begins about 162BPM at
which time I hit me anerobic threshold. Thanks in advance for the
feedback......................dean

In article <[email protected]>, [email protected] (realdean) wrote:

> I'm new to cycling and need an opinion on how I determined my anerobic threshold. I'm 45 years old
> and weigh 170lbs. I have a resting heart rate of 41 upon rising. After standing my HR jumps to 62.