Help me with my homework? (muscle stuff)

Discussion in 'Road Cycling' started by Raptor, Oct 28, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Raptor

Raptor Guest

I'm studying for personal trainer certification. It's very interesting so far. I feel like I'll be
    ready for med school after this. These are questions prompted by my natural curiosity and my
    reading, but I doubt are part of any test.

(Nomenclature:) Why do we have just two muscle types, if Type IIA and Type IIB are seemingly as
    different as Type I and Type II?

What's a typical motor unit firing rate? How many action potentials can a sarcomere handle per unit
    time? (Depending, I suppose, on what "handle" means, and if there's a "typical" to be found.)

--
    --
    Lynn Wallace http://www.xmission.com/~lawall "I'm not proud. We really haven't done everything we
    could to protect our customers. Our products just aren't engineered for security." --Microsoft VP in
    charge of Windows OS Development, Brian Valentine.

Tags:

2. J999w

J999w Guest

>What's a typical motor unit firing rate? How many action potentials can a sarcomere handle per
    >unit time?

A single muscle twitch lasts for 25-50 msec; the action potential lasts < 5 msec.

http://human.physiol.arizona.edu/SCHED/CV/Burt/Burt3/Burt.L3.pdf

Google to the rescue.

>I feel like I'll be ready for med school after this.

Riiiiiiiight.

:^]

Keep going and good luck !

John Wilke RN Milwaukee

3. On Wed, 29 Oct 2003 00:01:35 -0700, Raptor wrote:
    > (Nomenclature:) Why do we have just two muscle types, if Type IIA and Type IIB are seemingly as
    > different as Type I and Type II?

Standard explanation: historical reasons.

4. Wayne

Wayne Guest

> (Nomenclature:) Why do we have just two muscle types, if Type IIA and Type IIB are seemingly as

I believe historically at first only 2 types were identified, and then it was realized that there