Help please

adfreetv

Jan 23, 2006
Hi all... I am a newbie to road cycling..

Need help on purchasing a new bike. Have approx 3.5k to spend.. Looking at Scott, Trek or Giant.. Carbon if possible and 3 rings on the front for the hills I live in..

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

thanks

Adfreetv...

adfreetv said:
Hi all... I am a newbie to road cycling..

Need help on purchasing a new bike. Have approx 3.5k to spend.. Looking at Scott, Trek or Giant.. Carbon if possible and 3 rings on the front for the hills I live in..

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

thanks

Adfreetv...
I don't know this, but I suspect you may find it hard to get a Carbon bike with 3 chain rings.
How about getting something with a compact crank, which is typically 2 chainrings, but smaller. Your almost get the range you would get with a triple.
For example, how about this:
http://www.bicyclestore.com.au/Felt-F4C-pr-20857.html

ok thanks, will check it out.. suppose the 3 chain ring issue will be less of an issue after a few months of pushing up the hills!! :D

thanks again..

adfreetv...

adfreetv said:
suppose the 3 chain ring issue will be less of an issue after a few months of pushing up the hills!! :D
That is right. You will only need that granny gear for climbs of the Mt Baw Baw calibre, and they are not common.

A question, do you want to climb on the seat or standing?

If seated, then a triple is the only way to go. You can have any group you want on a carbon frame, its your money!

My suggestion is Ultegra 10 speed triple with 12-27 cassette and spin up the hills. Any good LBS can spec a Giant or Scott with that! Save some $$ for the wine cellar!! :D

gclark8 said:

If seated, then a triple is the only way to go. You can have any group you want on a carbon frame, its your money!

My suggestion is Ultegra 10 speed triple with 12-27 cassette and spin up the hills. Any good LBS can spec a Giant or Scott with that! Save some $$ for the wine cellar!! :D