Help. Problem with fellow Rider ;-(

I don't know, if his ego is as big as it sounds, he may be more inclined to be a tuff guy in a situation where someone is trying to take him down a notch or two. The main reason that I am suggesting that you address this in a non-confrontational manner is because of the potential for violent retribution. I mean you guys are riding on the road. Is this guy such a narcissist that he might attempt to run over your group in his Mercedes?

I had a guy like this in a club where i was a newb. He was all flashy bollocks and so i beat him every time there was a hill, drafted him in head winds then beat him home, and every time he broke i broke with him and soon enough he stopped breaking free and lead the pack and actually got nicer. They need a taste of some defeat and taking down a step or two..
Just do him up the hills mister...pisses 'em right off. HEH HEH and see what happens.

I would suggest you talk to his friend, the guy who invited him along in the first place. Let him know how you (and any other members of the group) feel about the guy. Then let the friend approach him about it. The guy would most likely be more receptive to his friend than to you, and subsequently be less inclined to get defensive. Then if the behavior continues ask his politely to stop his behavior. And if that doesn't work then tell him he is no longer welcome on your group's ride. If he still shows up then everyone should just totally ignore him to the point of acting like he doesn't even exist. The worst thing in the world for a narcissist is to be ignored by other people.