Help - Time Sensitive

jeremypeter

Apr 15, 2012
I just purchased a 2010 Cervelo S1 because it was an amazing deal. I only have a week to return it if I find that I "need" to. Having said that, here is my situation:

I currently have an SS steel road bike and was looking to get a road bike with gears (consider me new to geared biking). My main goal is to do long rides (like Gran Fondos, centuries, etc.), but I don't want to limit myself to this type of riding at this point, because I am still learning what I want/ like as a rider. I read up on the Cervelo S1 and reviews were great, even for longer rides (the sales person also said it would be suitable for this style of riding). So here's my dilemma:

The Cervelo S1 that I bought has a 10-speed Tiagra grouping for $1499

There was a BMC SR02 that I tested and had a 105 grouping for $1499

Originally I was looking at a Felt F75 with 105 grouping at the same price $1499

1. For my intended purposes, would any of these bikes be suitable? If so, which one would you recommend most based on components, price, intended use, etc.?

2. If none of these are suitable, what would you recommend purchasing based on the $1499 price range (can't go higher than that), keeping in mind that I am limited to Argon, Cervelo, Felt and Ridley and that I am new to this arena.

Thanks for your help.... really appreciate it!

J.

The point of the S1 is that many consider it to be the best stock aluminum frame anyone ever made. On the other hand, the Felt and BMC are also highly regarded, although they fall short of legendary status, probably because no pro rider ever won a grand tour stage or spring classic on one. So you have to decide if the extra grams, dated cable routing, and slightly notchier shifting of Tiagra offset the prestige and perceived superiority of the S1 frame, and the fact that it's already in your possession.