Help to avoid Back and shoulder pain during long ride

Rooster girl

Jan 13, 2013
So I need some advice, I've been cycling for a few months and I'm in great shape and I've been doing longer routs without a problem. Recently I've been doing 40 mile rides and as soon as I hit about 30 miles, I get a muscle spasm on my left shoulder blade area and my lower back starts hurting. Nothing else hurts and if it wasn't for that, I could go further. I don't feel like I'm putting a lot of pressure on my hands because they never hurt, so I'm not sure if it's the distance of my bars, or if my seat is not tilted the right way. Since I'm fairly new to this is can use some advice :)

There's no simple answer, it could be a lot of things. Your best bet is to find a good local bike fitter or higher end bike shop that does bike fits and have someone look at your overall position on the bike. It could be low bars or too much reach or saddle too far forward or a host of other things.

Some of it may also be just adapting to more time on the bike. Back in the day it was pretty common to take a lot of time off the bike post season and when I'd start back up with longer rides I'd get bad neck soreness and tightness in my shoulders. It would go away after a while but it happened season after season. I ride more year round and only take a couple of weeks or so at a time away from training post season and I haven't had those early season issues in many years.

-Dave

daveryanwyoming said:
Some of it may also be just adapting to more time on the bike. Back in the day it was pretty common to take a lot of time off the bike post season and when I'd start back up with longer rides I'd get bad neck soreness and tightness in my shoulders. It would go away after a while but it happened season after season. I ride more year round and only take a couple of weeks or so at a time away from training post season and I haven't had those early season issues in many years. -Dave