HELP w/ KESTREL 4000 Rebuild Project

CJ Smith

Sep 11, 2006
I’m CJ (39/Single Male/Palm Harbor, FL.) I'm a mariner by trade & a pro cyclist in my mind. Now if I could just get Phil Liggett, Paul Sherwin, Al Trautwig and Bob “TOUR DAYFRANCE” Roll to stop announcing my name as I ride, especially since I am the only one that can hear it, I would be ok!

On the serious side, I have been enjoying a great rebuild project. It is a 1989 Kestrel 4000 with Gray Graphics. My restoration goal is to have the completed bike EXACTLY as it was when it rolled out of B&L Bike & Sport in
Kailua-KonaHawaii on May 9, 1989.

Well that should tell you a bit of what type of person I am, but why would I want to rebuild this bike?

Well, that part is simple. It was built by B&L Bike & Sport owner & Ironman Bike Director, Nick Rott. In August of 1994 Nick was killed while on a training ride on the Big Island of Hawaii. Sadly, I didn't find out until November of '94 on account of having moved back to the mainland
USA. He & I were such friends that upon finding out about his death I immediately retired the bike. More than 10 years later I can admit that there isn't a day that goes by that somehow I don't think about him or use something that he sold me. From Bike Cases to Wheel Safes; from nearly ALL of my shop tools to just looking at the framed photos around my workshop… In the past 20 years I have owned two other Kestrel bikes, all because of Nick having “sold” me that first one. Heck, even some of my back up bikes were even purchased from his shop. I also credit Nick with my age group success. I know my medals & trophies wouldn’t be there if it weren’t for him. If this isn’t clear enough, well… just watch “It’s a Wonderful Life” a few times to better understand what I am trying to convey.