Help with making workplace changes

1id10t

Apr 11, 2005
Hi
I've been cycling to work for several months now and lock my bike in the carpark to whatever immovable object is available (generally a pole attached to the chainlink fence). I've decided though that this is no longer acceptable and wish to petition the company to provide proper bike facilities. This is a large financial organisation who already spends plenty of money on constantly refurbishing floors and updating IT equipment.
Anyway, i've downloaded a number of good articles from the RTA site and the City of Sydney site advocating commuting by bike but I was wondering if anyone else had suggestions, experience or links to other sites which could help me get started.
I am in the process of typing a questionnaire and 'bike advocacy' document which I intend on attaching to the bikes already parked in the carpark. I was also thinking of placing them under the windshield wiper of cars as I believe this affects them also (most of the places to which a bike can be locked are in extremely close proximity to the vehicles that damage could occur to either bike or car).
Anyway, hope someone has some useful advice. :)

Ideally, you would have access to lockable bike cages so that you don't have to worry about computers, lights, seats, wheels etc.
You need a hot shower. A clothes dryer or at least a washing line would be great. Somewhere to hang clothes. An iron and ironing board would make a big difference.
I don't have access to all these things at work at the moment, but that is my wish list.
I don't want to be too negative but I would be surprised if your fossil-fuel burning colleagues get very interested in your plight... :rolleyes:

artemidorus said:
Ideally, you would have access to lockable bike cages so that you don't have to worry about computers, lights, seats, wheels etc.