Help with touring bike recommendation - REI Randonee!

Discussion in 'Touring and recreational cycling' started by mossygyrl, Nov 8, 2004.

1. mossygyrl

mossygyrl New Member

I am new to the touring world, and was hoping some kind folk may help me in my decisions on the purchase of a new bike. I am interested in buying the REI brand -Novara- Randonee touring bicycle, in part due to their
    good prices on what appears to be good bicycles. and also in part due to their lifetime satisfaction guarantee. The bike specs are as follows, if anyone has any comments on insights on this bike, and what it might offer for the long haul...? And if I could bargain with the store to upgrade, what would be some key upgrades I should try to push for? Thank you, so much for any insight and help, and perhaps I will see you on the road someday!

Elaine

2004 Novara Randonee Specs:

SpecificationDescriptionFrameReynolds 520 Cro-MolyFork<unknown>Head setRitchey Scuzzy Logic compRear derailleurShimano Tiagra x9Front derailleurShimano Tiagra x3ShiftersShimano ST-R500Brake leversShimano ST-R500BrakesShimano BR-R550CranksetShimano Tiagra 30/42/52CassetteShimano Tiagra 11/28 x8Bottom bracket/axle<unknown>RimsMavic A319TiresContinental Top Touring 2000 700x28StemRitchey ProHandlebarRitchey BioMaxSaddleLookin XseniumSeat postRitchey AlloyWeight?? lbs. (52 cm)

Tags:

2. daveornee

daveornee New Member

For the money it is a great bicycle. I know a couple of teachers that road across the USA on them. They had support through the mountains so they didn't carry the weight.
    Are you planning to use it for loaded touring?
    Many, if not most, touring bicycles have 135 mm Over Locknut Dimension. Randonee uses 130 mm. 5 mm additional width makes the rear wheel more durable.