herebal use

Discussion in 'Health and medical' started by Mlb, Feb 20, 2004.

1. Mlb

Mlb Guest

I'm kind of new to the use of herbs and the effect they actually have. I was just wondering if
    their was anyone out there using them and if they can give me some feedback on them whether postive
    or negative.

Tags:

2. "mlb" <[email protected]> wrote in message
    news:[email protected]...
    > I'm kind of new to the use of herbs and the effect they actually have. I was just wondering if
    > their was anyone out there using them and if they can give me some feedback on them whether
    > postive or negative.

There are many books available on the therapeutic uses of herbaceous plants, but not all are
    authoritative. Many contain absolute nonsense like, "Ginseng strengthens the immune system," or "Blue-
    green algae restore balance to the body." Such meaningless blanket statements are not really useful
    to one trying to use herbs medicinally.

But the real problem with turning to herbal medication is obtaining a supply. Unless you grow your
    own, or stick with the common culinary herbs you can buy at your supermarket, you have to trust your
    vendor completely to sell you what you think you are buying. If you buy a carton of milk, or a
    bottle of aspirins, you are assured that you are getting exactly what the labels on their containers
    claim...no less and no unlabeled additives...as regulated by the FDA. But herbs, sold as
    "nutritional supplements," are entirely unregulated. If you purchase a bottle of capsules of, say,
    "Feverfew," you have no assurance how much of the actual herb those capsules contain, if any. You
    also have no way of knowing what ELSE is in those capsules as filler. Neither the FDA no anyone else
    prevents the herb sellers from filling their capsules with common weeds and selling them under many
    labels at absurdly high prices. If you think this is not done, you are quite naive.