Hi Everyone! recommendations with a $700 budget mountain->hybrid?

art2012

Sep 27, 2012
Hi Everyone,

I'm a newbie, 5'9". Looking to purchase a good new bike, or an excellent used bike. I'm going to be using this pretty much on paved trail, or country roads that are unpaved and a bit rocky. Nothing like climbing over boulders or any of that fancy stuff.

I have a budget of $700. Can anyone recommend anything? I'm not sure if I need a mountain bike or hybrid, but I'd like a seat that doesn't kill me after a few miles. I do like the appearance of mountain bikes much better than the hybrid.

Thank You!

FWIW. The JAMIS CODA would be 'my' choice if I were looking for a new-from-the-LBS bike and working with the budget you indicated ...

The base model has an MSRP of ~$550 ... a 2012 mode in stock will cost less. There are several models but I would choose the base model because it is the one with a steel frame (a reason for some not to choose it, BTW).

The saddle which comes with any bike can be replaced and in most cases should probably NOT be a factor in choosing one bike over another.

----------

YOU (everyone, really) need to decide what maximum tire size (width, specifically) that you think you may want to use based on the anticipated riding conditions which you think you will encounter and choose the bike-or-frame accordingly ...

I do NOT know the maximum tire size that the Jamis Coda frames can accommodate ... easily 700x32, probably 700x42 ... in a perfect world, you could squeeze a 700x52 tire in the frame and/or fork (with the fork being readily replaced with a "touring" fork if you wanted to use 700x52 tires sans fenders for some reason).

BTW. I did not realize that there was a controversy about wheel size, but recently that issue came up, again.