Hi, im new around here and need advice on some CL bikes

JerDayton

Jun 26, 2014
Hi people, I'm Jeremy and i'm completely new to the world of cycling. In the market for a road bike, need some pricing advice.

http://dayton.craigslist.org/bik/4539854505.html

Ive looked up some tips on things to look for when buying used for myself already, but if you have any additional advice on things I should look for when I go check these bikes out I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks in advance,
Jeremy

You didn't say what you will be using the bike for and how much will you be using it.

I was alive and riding bikes when those World Sports came out and they were just so so bikes with low end Shimano components. The were also on the upper end of the weight scale for year they were made, quite heavy, thus the bike was Schwinns second from the bottom of the line.

However if this bike is going to be a commuter bike for college or work and will be locked up outside then this is an ideal bike for that purpose because most bike thieves won't be interested in taking it. And it makes a great first bike as you mentioned, it will get your feet wet to see if you like the sport without breaking the bank only to find out later you hate it! Then you'll have expensive garage art.

Having said all of that, I would offer the guy $50 because it's essentially only worth that unless it's in like new condition then offer the $50 and see if he counters to say $70 for example.

If you will be using it for a commuter you'll need to get commuter worthy tires, those tires are a bit of hard to find size but there is still a couple of good tires (as well as some cheap not so good tires) you can get. The best tire for the money is the Panaracer Pasela TG you can find these for about $22 or so on Amazon, see: http://www.amazon.com/Panaracer-Pasela-Guard-Bicycle-27x1-1/dp/B001CK2DZM Or you can get the stock sized 27x1 1/4 but these cost about $48 on Amazon and the 1/8th size I showed first is just fine.