High-End Aluminum (Ultegra) vs. Low-End Carbon Fiber (105)

Counttwist

Nov 18, 2003
I am a relative newbie looking to buy a road bike in the $1000-1500 range. I will be doing some touring and some training, so I am looking for a "sport bike" that will be comfortable for long rides, but also useful for getting into shape or even on a triathalon once or twice a year.

Seems like I can afford either a low end carbon fiber (or aluminum/carbon mix) bike with the 105 components OR a high-end aluminum bike with Ultegra components, but I don't have the cash for both carbon and Ultegra.

Is the frame material more important than the components? I have looked through some of the threads here, but the debates are usually aluminum vs. steel, not aluminum vs. carbon fiber, and Ultegra vs. Dura-Ace, not Ultegra vs. 105.

I'm not sure I will be able to come to any conclusions test riding the bikes since I won't be able to ride them for distances long enough to really figure out the trade-offs.

Any thoughts?

I think an important consideration here, aside from general frame material and drivetrain level, is the actual grade of the frame material and the quality of the construction. It's possible that the carbon fiber frame you're looking at isn't the greatest representation of carbon fiber.

What else do you know about these frames? What are the makes?

Originally posted by Counttwist

I'm not sure I will be able to come to any conclusions test riding the bikes since I won't be able to ride them for distances long enough to really figure out the trade-offs.

Any thoughts?
How do you expect someone else to tell you what you will like. You did not even mention size and weight, and that matters. Some people hate aluminum,some love it.Which one are you? There is not that much real difference between 105 and ultegra for what you are doing.